Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Throttle sticking?

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2014, 05:42 PM
wiggum
Advanced
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Throttle sticking?

Quick summary of events:

I'm new to working on motorcycles, but mechanically minded and have worked on cars for years.

Bought some new grips that were universal, so they used the OEM collars. They were "Posh Gum Grips" for those wondering. After reading some how tos and reviews I went at at. The left side came off easy, quick slit with an exacto knife and loosened the torx screws from the controls and slide the new one on. I will say I had to paint the end of the bars black on the left side because the grips were semi translucent and I needed a dark base to get the color effect I was going for. On the right side was a different story. Very difficult to get the grip off while retaining the OEM plastic collar. Loosened the two torx screws on the controls and went to town on it, took a while but got it done. Covered the new grip inside with hair spray (read this all over the interweb) and place it on the bars. Tightened down the torx all the way on the controls and done.

I noticed today that the throttle is not resetting itself. I turn it and it sticks. Did i do something wrong? So I need to oil anything? I never moved the OEM throttle tube or adjusted the cable. Are the Torx screws supposed to be all the way tight? Can't figure out where I went wrong.

Thanks

Old 12-26-2014, 06:00 PM
Guzzi
Road Warrior
Received 105 Likes on 98 Posts

Hairspray should have only been used on the left grip. The throttle grip needs to be able to spin freely.
Also did you loosen the throttle cable adjustment before installing the throttle grip?
Recheck your cable ends routing around the new grip.

Old 12-26-2014, 06:07 PM
wiggum
Advanced
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts