Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stage 1, to dyno or not to dyno

Old 01-28-2015, 06:52 PM
crazyfool710
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stage 1, to dyno or not to dyno

I plan on getting a 2015 72 Sportster Harley Davidson. I've been saving up my money and in the mean time I've been doing a little bit of research. I've never owned a Harley or a motorcycle for that matter. So I'm new to everything but making an effort to learn little by little.

I know the first thing I want to do is a stage one on my Harley. So that would include new exhaust, air cleaner,exhaust gasket, and a fuel tuner (anything else missing?). I'm unsure of what exactly to get but after doing some looking around I for sure want the Vance and Hines ShortShots staggered exhaust. I know I'll be content with a stage 1 for now and maybe down the line as I become more motorcycle savy I'll do some more modifications. So I'm always going to want to have that option.

Now Ive been doing some researching and wondering if I should put my bike on a dyno to remap; or install a auto/fuel tuner and retune on a dyno; or just installing a fuel tuner and avoiding a dyno. I hear running on a dyno is expensive, a scam in some ways, hard on your bike, and not always necessary in some situations. At first I was thinking of just buying the pipes, air cleaner, etc. and having the Harley dealership install everything for me and putting it on the dyno but I feel like I wont get the full satisfaction of letting someone else mod my bike. I'd like a more hands on experience to learn and get to know my bike. If any statements/questions I've made could be answered that'd really help and much appreciated.