Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Confusing oil leak on '11 Nightster

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2015, 07:10 PM
Price.nathan
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Confusing oil leak on '11 Nightster

Hey everyone. I am a bit of a newb when it comes to maintaining my own bike and Harley's but for the most part, am confident in my mechanical abilities. I am getting confused on this one so I think it's best, if you are interested, to give you the full story.

I had a leaky oil hose (the one to drain the oil to be exact) that I changed out a couple of months ago. shortly thereafter I noticed that I had oil spewing down the right and some on the left side of my bike. I checked my oil and noticed it was high so I sucked some out with a turkey baster to a proper level. I let the bike warm up with the side covers and seat off, checked the oil, and let it idle to see if I could see any leaking oil. All 4 hoses looked good and I didn't see anything coming out of the oil tank itself. Test rode it for 20 minutes or so periodically stopping and checking for leaking oil and the level. All was good.

The next morning there was a small puddle underneath the bike by the rear master cylinder. I figured its just an oil puddle that found its way out while riding. A couple of days later I rode it around about 60 miles or so and everything seemed to be just dandy.

I didn't notice any leaking oil or anything until today when I got to work, oil had spewed down the right side and was dripping off the rear master cylinder. When I peered under the seat, near the relief valve, I could see a puddle. I checked the oil, that had been at a normal hot operating level, and it was now over full, again. While sitting there I did notice that the oil level was dropping inside the tank right in front of me (and no it wasn't coming out on the ground.)