Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

V&e fp3

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2015, 03:39 PM
barrachuck
Tourer
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default V&e fp3

Hello All,

Looking to start the upgrades on my 2015 Forty Eight.

Because the bike runs lean from the factory, adding a stage 1 air kit will just add to the problem. So, Im thinking about buying a tuner first then filter and pipes.

Question. Whats the best tuner? Im not a certified mechanic, more of a shade tree mechanic. Would prefer something that is more plug and play, and do not want to waste my money. Need more bang for the buck. Ive been looking at the V&H FP3 - but seen several people having issues with staying connected by Bluetooth - and other having issues with the bike not running well. Some of that I assume is due to not knowing what youre doing. Maybe Im wrong. Is the FP3 the best choice?

Thanks for your help!

Old 12-28-2015, 04:13 PM
Guzzi
Road Warrior
Received 105 Likes on 98 Posts

What's your budget for a tuner? You can spend from $125 to $500+.
Very happy with my Fuel Moto Micro EFI for $199, and I am a certified airline wrench.
There are better products out there (I'm told), they cost more $$$$.
Buy the best you can either afford or what makes the best sense to you. I can afford more then the FM Micro, but I have many expensive hobby's. The FM Micro is a very cost effective tuner and WAAAYYYY better then the XIEDs.

Old 12-28-2015, 04:24 PM
drinktothat421
Road Master
Received 73 Likes on 68 Posts

power vision if you want a flash tuner. or take your pick of a piggy back tuner.(cobro fi2000) in the long run the powervison will be the best. chances are you will get another tuner if you go the cheap route. i have a croba powerpro i got it used for $190 if it craps out on me im going straight to a power vision.