Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sportster 1250 kit oil breathing query

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2016, 06:15 AM
Will1250
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sportster 1250 kit oil breathing query

Hey people, let me know if this topic is in the wrong place or has been covered previously as I'm new to this (only my second post).
What are the current thoughts on Sportster (2004) crankcase vents?
Background: I run a 2004 883 roadster fairly hard in mostly reasonably warm conditions (Australia). I have an NRHS 1250 kit (the one with iron lined alloy cylinders and total seal rings) on the shelf beside a Mikuni HSR42 carb, which I am planning on installing soon(ish), but I keep reading threads about people with 1200/1250's ect spewing oil out of the breathers into the air filters, especially on hard runs. I will not installed the kit or carb until I have a reasonable chance of doing so without excess oil breathing problems (and yes, I have read everything I can on the subject but am still a little confused as there are so many conflicting opinions; maybe I am missing something).
With the 883 I do not get any breathing problems, and am currently running a brass 'T'in the cam chest breather to oil tank line (called the vent line in the manual) to an automotive PCV valve and then to atmosphere. Have never had any oil drops/mist out of this line.
My question is this: Has anyone tried running the original umbrella seals and an aftermarket horseshoe pipe on the head breathers to a 'T' fitting at the top of the cam chest to oil tank line (the manual calls it the 'vent' line) instead of venting the horseshoe pipe to atmosphere (or near the rear tyre)?
My feeling is that it can vent as much as it likes in there, it is still a closed system without any chance of ingesting outside contaminants, the umbrella seals only let oil mist out of the heads and no mess.