Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Guard Install?

Old 12-07-2016, 12:19 PM
TyesonAnthony
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Guard Install?

Hello! I bought a 2016 Iron 883 this Sunday. The first thing I figured I should add is an engine guard for that little bit of extra protection in the unfortunate event of me dropping the bike, as I'm fairly new to riding.

The local dealership wanted a bit much for installation, so I figured I'd ask if anyone knew the specifics of putting one on.
From just eyeballing the bike, it looks like I'll have to detach the horn and bolt it back on top of the guard.

Do you think this installation is easy or are there any other things I should know or extra steps I should take?
Thanks in adance.

Old 12-07-2016, 01:00 PM
hexnut
Banned
Received 224 Likes on 176 Posts

Yeah Its real easy. Should not be a problem. I put one on mine and did not have any issues.

Old 12-07-2016, 01:07 PM
RedRanger7
Cruiser
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts

Welcome aboard Tyeson!! It was an easy job on my 04 XL1200C, I needed a torx socket for my upper bolts, I reused the ones that were there on the engine mount. I bought a used guard so lower bolts werent included. I assume you are buying new for a new bike so you will probably get instructions too. You can probably find some instructions online and maybe something on you tube.
Good Luck, Dave

The following users liked this post:
TyesonAnthony (12-08-2016)
Old 12-07-2016, 03:34 PM
Guzzi
Road Warrior
Received 105 Likes on 98 Posts

Instructions can be found on any accessory under fitment.Here's what you're looking for.
https://serviceinfo.harley-davidson....document/61591

The following users liked this post:
TyesonAnthony (12-08-2016)
Old 12-07-2016, 11:25 PM
hscic
Elite HDF Member
Received 544 Likes on 463 Posts