Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie with questions...

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2007, 10:05 AM
TripleT
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with questions...

OK, I'm new to the HD world and have owned many bikes over the years. I just purchased my first HD which is a 2002 XL 1200C with 2450 miles. The bike is flawless and beautiful. I know there were a few things to consider when looking for my first Harley. I looked at the new models and just couldn't justify the expense so I did the next best thing, I bought a used one with low miles (driven by a 50 year old guy who lives in the country). Anyway, I have just a few questions just to be sure I have a good bike and also a question regarding the exhaust system.

1 - I noticed what I would describe as a chatter comming from the gear box/engine, Normal/Not Normal (very slight in noise but there none the less)?
2 - Vibration, does this year have the solid engine mounts?
3 - I currently have the SE II exhaust and it just doesn't sound right a little quiet and not much of the potato potato signature sound. How hard is it to remove the baffles just to see if the differnce in sound is what I am looking for?
4 - Also, once the bike warms up, it seems to idle quite fast. I have no way to check the RPM setting on the idle as it obviously has just the speedo, is it dealer time?
5- I'm having a hard time finding slip-ons for this year Sportster (if I choose to change out the SE II's). Can anyone recomment and slip-ons for this year bike (I would like to maintain the OEMH pipe and heat shields if possible.)?

Thanks to any and all who can help.

This forum is awesome, and everyone seems really nice and helpful here.

Tripple-T (tennessee trailer trash LOL)

Old 07-07-2007, 10:24 AM
Jules
Tourer
Received 24 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Newbie with questions...