Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

opinions on XL 1200L sportster for first bike

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2006, 02:09 PM
Florida
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default opinions on XL 1200L sportster for first bike

Hello all,

I am new to the forum, I wanted to get some expert opinions on the 1200L.

I am also new to motorcycling, I caught up with some of my old buddies recently and I rode one of their bikes and since I have really been considering getting one. I went to a harley dealer and looked at bikes and I really like the 1200L.

There are a couple of reasons I like it. First, the gas tank is more similar to a softtail. I think this style is much better looking than the taller, skinnier tanks that most sportsters have. Also, there is more chrome than the average sportster, the engine is chrome as opposed to the 883s I saw. 1200 is obviously plenty of power, more than I would need for a first bike. I am 5'11, around 195 lbs, so a smaller bike would probably be better for me. Also, there is no way I could afford a softtail even if I wanted one.

However, everywhere I look it seems that these bikes are for women. The HD official site has pictures of only women driving it, there is a thread in this forum about getting one for the wife, the only one I have seen for sale used says it is the guy's wife's bike.... is there something I am missing that makes the Low model a woman's bike? You guys speak well of the 1200c, and 1200r. Isn't the only difference the height of the suspension? Isn't the reason many people prefer the softtail over the sportster because of the lower suspension on a softtail?