Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Sportster Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by: Rush Racing Products

P

Old 04-13-2010, 03:30 PM
Hang Around
Default Cost Effective Stage 1 Remap?

Ok, I am pretty new to messing with EFI on bikes. I am looking to do a Stage 1 upgrade on my 09 XL1200N. I will either be doing the SE Stage 1 AC (running an AMSOIL filter on it) or Roland Sands AC and then V&H Big Radius 2 into 2. I am a little confused on the EFI remap though. Just talked to the dealer about the cost of just the EFI remap and was told they want $280 just to do the straight download and $1050 for the SERT with Dyno time. The price just sounds nuts to me. I really would rather make ECU adjustments than to add a tandem box. What are some effective options here? Also, is a remap really required after just doing the AC upgrade? More than likely I will do the AC upgrade first and pipes several months down the road. I would rather wait to mess with the EFI until after the pipes are on.

Also, before anyone says anything, I did search but didn't come up with anything that valuable.
Old 04-13-2010, 03:58 PM
Road Master

You do not need to do the remap if you are going to do just the a/c with stock pipes. Harley doesn't offer the stage 1 download anymore so if they are trying to sell it to you they shouldn't be. The most cost effective way I would say would be the fuelpak and then the power commander. Both can be adjusted for your particular set up and are easy to get your a bike a good base tune that it will run good on. The power commander is dyno tunable if you decide down the road you want to get all you can out of the tune. The fuelpak is not dynotunable and you just punch in the values they give for your set up.

'08 Nightster
Old 04-13-2010, 04:03 PM
Old Fart