Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1979 LHX 1000 Sportster - AMF

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2010, 11:34 PM
Cowboy4
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1979 LHX 1000 Sportster - AMF

Looking at buying one. All original except the exhaust. Runs great no leaks!!! I'm just starting out. Is this a good year and model for Harley Sportsters? I have heard the AMF models were inferior. ??? Any feedback appreciated.
Thanks!

Old 07-21-2010, 11:35 PM
veritas.archangel
Road Warrior
Received 28 Likes on 18 Posts

From what I understand, the AMF years were not good at all. Something about a sports equipment company making bikes.

Old 07-22-2010, 12:42 AM
eviltwin415
Tourer

Originally Posted by veritas.archangel
From what I understand, the AMF years were not good at all. Something about a sports equipment company making bikes.
+1 I was just up at at guy's place and he had sheds, trailers, and garages full of bikes/parts. Every time I pointed out an AMF Harley, he pretty much said this exact line.

Old 07-22-2010, 12:49 AM
XLCR4GM
Road Master
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts