Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1998 XL1200 - backfiring and puking fuel -- ANY HELP?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2010, 07:16 PM
bigdaddy200
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 XL1200 - backfiring and puking fuel -- ANY HELP?

My FIL called me this afternoon asked me to take his bike (1998 XL1200) to get inspected. He hasn't ridden it all season but he had charged it up and it did start for me right away. As soon as I started riding away I knew something was wrong. When I roll on the throttle power dies and the bike almost sounds like it's getting flooded. It doesn't respond by producing more power.

Rolling the throttle in neutral causes severe backfiring from both the front and rear cyclinders and now, there is gas draining out from a vent tube that runs from the carb to the front of the bike (vent tube).

I tried draining the tank and refilliing it with fresh gas. Used some carb cleaner in the tank and some spray cleaner in the carb venturi (if that is the right term)...no help. Bike is still backfiring.

It idles fine - it just won't respond to increased fuel with more power.

Any ideas? Thanks for your help - my bike is a 2009 XL1200C with EFI - carbs are not my thing. I guess I need to get back to the basics.

Old 08-12-2010, 07:04 AM
WVHogRider
Elite HDF Member
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

To me it sounds like the carb probably needs taken off and cleaned/rebuilt. The slow jet sounds like it's gummed up & not spraying enough fuel causing the lack of acceleration/flooding effect. The fuel draing out the overflow is probably due to dirt causing the float to stick.

Old 08-12-2010, 07:17 AM
bigdaddy200
Advanced

Thanks Hogrider - that was my assessment too. I'm probably not the right guy to try to rebuild the carb, but I'll pick up a manual and see if I can figure out the basics.

Old 08-12-2010, 07:20 AM
xFreebirdx
Ultimate HDF Member