Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1200 Sportster Engine dies while driving

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2011, 08:03 PM
C-harmer
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1200 Sportster Engine dies while driving

I am new to the motorcycle world and looking for some help. I just bought my first 1998 1200 XL Sportster about a month ago. It runs fine going too and from work about 10 to 15 miles both ways. I have taken it out two times just to go for a long ride and both times it has died on me. The first time it died was around the 25 mile mark. I was just starting from a stop light and it died going around the corner. I manged to get it started back up and got 2 blocks and it started to misfire and died again. This time I was unable to start it back up. After sitting for about 30 to 40 min I was able to get it started again and was able to drive it about a mile and it died.

I brought it into a Harley Dealer and they were unable to find anything wrong with it, after taking it out for a ride three different times. They thought it may have happened due to low gas or bad gas. I filled the bike up 2 gallons (it is a 3 gallon tank).

The next weekend I took it out again for another ride and at about 20 miles the engine lost power, then had a small surge of power and died again. This time i was unable to get the bike started. It still had power such as lights, blinkers, and horn. When I would try to start the bike it would turn and turn and turn but would never start. Same as last time I sat around waiting for my ride for about 45 min and when my ride showed I was able to get the bike started long enough to get it into the trailor. This time I had to give it some gas to get it started.

I dont know if this could be part of the problem but both days were hot and humid days.

Anyone have any ideas?

Last edited by C-harmer; 06-23-2011 at 09:30 PM.