Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Step-by-Step Photos of Slip On Muffler Install

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2011, 08:32 AM
TKDKurt
Elite HDF Member
Received 126 Likes on 88 Posts
Default Step-by-Step Photos of Slip On Muffler Install

I am no mechanic and had cold feet about swapping out my mufflers, even though they are called "slip ons" and the descriptions of what to do sounded pretty simple. But I couldn't find any photos to illustrate the descriptions. So when I did mine 2 days ago, I decided I would take step-by-step photos and post them here for other members who may not have done something like this before. Based on advice from members of this forum, I did not do every step that some suggest. What I did was easy and fast. Including letting the WD-40 sit on the torca clamp nuts and muffler/headpipe connection for 10 minutes, the whole process took right around an hour, moving slowly (and taking pictures). Here is the link to the photo album that shows what I did.

https://www.hdforums.com/forum/membe...sportster.html

Here is a step by step description of what I did. Although the photos are captioned, some steps, like the WD-40 step can't be illustrated.
1. Removed the lower worm clamps and loosened the upper ones on the heat shields to pivot them out of the way.
2. Sprayed WD-40 on the torca clamp nut and the connection between the stock muffler and the header pipe.
3. Removed the flanged bolts securing the old mufflers to the interconnect bracket.
4. Loosened the torca clamps and slipped them off the end of the muffler onto the header pipe.
5. I did NOT loosen the bolts at the header flange. It was not necessary. My parts guy at the dealer had confirmed that I should not do it. He said doing so risks damaging the flange gasket, which isn't expensive to replace, but just an unnecessary risk.