Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

INSTALL: Vance & Hines Short Shots Quiet Baffles

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2012, 08:35 PM
jmat1980
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default INSTALL: Vance & Hines Short Shots Quiet Baffles

Im new to Harleys, and fairly new to motorcycles. My previous bike was a Yamaha R6 a few years ago. My Harley 48 is being delivered on Fri, and I have already ordered some parts. The first that I just received are the Vance and Hines Short Shots (black). I was researching them a bit and learned that the quiet baffles give it a deeper tone and quiet it down just a hair. I then listened to some of the you tube videos of these pipes and decided to order the quiet baffles (dont forget to order 2 of them) I searched on the web for some install instructions and found nothing, so I decided to write some. Even though the install is fairly self explanatory, I would have liked to go into it with some tips, so here they are...

First, these are much easier to install with the pipes off the bike. I cant have imagined doing it with the pipes installed.

Here is the pipe, obviously, you need to slip off the black heat shield before beginning

Here you can see the standard baffle inside the pipe before it is removed

First you need to remove the set screw with an allen wrench. I dont know what size it is because the wrench wasnt marked, I just have a box and picked the size that fit

Here is the new vance and hines quiet baffle you will be installing. Be sure to leave on the fiberglass wrap and the tape that secures it to the baffle

I used a hook tool to extract the standard baffle. The only real place to hook on to it is the threads there the set screw goes. Hook on and pull until enough is out that you can grab it with your hand and pull it all the way out

Here is the standard baffle coming out

These are the two baffles side by side