Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can you troubleshoot my bike?

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2012, 10:47 PM
jauslong
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can you troubleshoot my bike?

1997 883.

Over the winter I had a few projects for my bike. I'll qualify by saying that I'm a beginner and I've had this bike for about six months.

When I got the bike, it had a leak from the primary cover that amounted to a few drops after each ride. At some point, that leak became much more significant so I replaced the primary cover gasket, obviously changed the transmission oil.

I changed the engine oil.

I replaced the spark plugs (they looked like they had a film of carbon on them, which I'm told means my fuel mixture may be rich. These were the plugs that came with the bike when I bought, so I have no idea how long they were used.

I got the parts and assembled this: https://www.hdforums.com/forum/sport...s-of-pics.html

Rode about 10 miles with the new air filter and heard a very loud pop kind of sound on occasion. I assume that means my fuel mixture is lean.

I also noticed while changing the filter that there is a paper gasket that goes between the carb and the bracket (or backplate). There is a rip in that gasket.

Seeing as how I have nearly zero spare time lately and was anxious to get back to riding, when I finished replacing the primary gasket, I put the stock air cleaner back on, admitting to myself that I'm not ready to tune the carb and don't want to risk missing out on a beautiful spring of riding with a disassembled or broken bike.

Except, the bike feels different to me now. First, I could swear that I have less low-end torque than I did before. I live next to a steep hill and so I can tell pretty quickly that I'm not able to climb it as quickly as I could before.