Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rejetted Carb - Lost some Power

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2013, 03:07 PM
Cooptown54
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rejetted Carb - Lost some Power

I'm fairly new to motorcycles and just bought myself a Harley Sportster lastsummer. The bike is a 2001 and the previous owner had put a lot of work intothe bike. From what he told me it has SE racing cams, SE ignition module,K&N, straight pipes...blah blah..you get it, he hopped it up.

So, last year the ignition module went out and was replaced by a stock Harleyone. The bike ran great for about 5 months but just recently had to go backinto the shop due to it fouling out plugs and running poorly. This was really odd because I had rode thebike 2 weeks earlier and it was fine. It’skept in a garage so it wasn’t sitting in the elements.

After the ignition module was swapped for the stock Harley one, I did noticethe bike seem to lose a little power. I was ok with it because I figured it wasdue to the stock part vs. the SE part and it still had some good get up and goleft in it.

Fast forward 5 months to today - I Just got the bike back from Harley and itagain seems to have lost some power. It runs good but I feel it’s not as fastoff the line as it used to be. They rejetted the carb from 45 slow to 42 slowand 180 main to 155 main. The slow seemslike a small jump but the main seems like a huge jump.

My question is:
Is it to be expected that I'd lose some power or did the tech just jet thebike back down to "safe" setting and disregard my upgrades? Should I be questioning his work?

Old 04-11-2013, 03:19 PM
John Harper
HDF Community Team
Received 1,643 Likes on 1,133 Posts

Did you check your sparkplug color before having work done? 42/155 is too small if you have upgraded pipes, cams, aircleaner, etc. 45/180 sounds about right to me.