Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sportster Virgin

Old 08-19-2014, 02:59 PM
DEW2112
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sportster Virgin

I have been riding bigtwins for the last 25 years, done all my own wrenching tuning, bla,bla bla. Now for the first time in my life, a 2002 sportster is showing up in my garage and its got issues! The only history the young lady (owner) has its now a 1200 and is running extremely hot to the point sounding like the lifters are collapsing. We got stuck in a traffic jam for about 20 minutes a few nights ago ( temps were about 65 degrees) and I thought her motor was going to grenade! My guess is the carb is too lean on the pilot and or idle mixture. Can anybody give me a ballpark jet size for this motor. I understand more info is needed (cam, compression, ect.) but that isnt going to happen right now. Im thinking Im going to go one up on the pilot and check the idle mixture and change the oil to a straight 60wt which by the way hasent been changed in 2 years. She also stated the choke has to be on for a while when first started which is a red flag to me Any suggestions?

Old 08-19-2014, 04:27 PM
cHarley
Club Member
Received 299 Likes on 228 Posts

You could try a #45 pilot jet, that's one size up from the stock #42 stock.
As for the "choke", that depends on how long "a while" really is. It takes a few minutes, depending on the air temperature, before my bike is ready for the enrichner to be fully pushed in (off).

Old 08-19-2014, 04:45 PM
DEW2112
Cruiser

Originally Posted by cHarley
You could try a #45 pilot jet, that's one size up from the stock #42 stock.
As for the "choke", that depends on how long "a while" really is. It takes a few minutes, depending on the air temperature, before my bike is ready for the enrichner to be fully pushed in (off).