Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

05 Electra glide standard new to me

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2015, 10:47 PM
wolf28
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 Electra glide standard new to me

Just picked up an 05 eg standard efi its new to me has 62,000 miles it has stage 2 kit injection programmer exhaust has receipts for alot of the stuff but is there anything I need to look at to make sure everything is in shape I'm new to harleys so any help will be awesome!!! Thanks

Old 07-05-2015, 10:53 PM
wolf28
Advanced
Old 07-05-2015, 11:10 PM
Turbo Turtle
Road Warrior
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Nice ride. I like the tourpack. Wishing I had one right now. I recommend picking up both manuals and the parts breakdown catalog for referencing if you plan on working on it yourself. First thing to check if theirs no receipts is the timing chain tensioners. Pull the exhaust and the cam cover. their condition can be confirmed from there. I used "Cyco" tensioner shoes 30K ago.

BOB

Old 07-05-2015, 11:25 PM
wolf28
Advanced

Originally Posted by Turbo Turtle
Nice ride. I like the tourpack. Wishing I had one right now. I recommend picking up both manuals and the parts breakdown catalog for referencing if you plan on working on it yourself. First thing to check if theirs no receipts is the timing chain tensioners. Pull the exhaust and the cam cover. their condition can be confirmed from there. I used "Cyco" tensioner shoes 30K ago.

BOB
Thanks where would I get the manuals and parts catalogue from? I kinda checked eBay for some but didn't try that hard I guess cuz nothing was really jumping out and are the tensioners a huge pain? Or easy to check?

Old 07-06-2015, 06:02 AM
Insulatorman17
Intermediate