Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Andrews 57H

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2015, 08:57 PM
DOC H
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Andrews 57H

Hello all, Im a newbie to this forum. After having a surgery two weeks ago, the Doctor told me I couldn't ride for awhile, so i did what any reasonable biker would do. I tore open my brand new engine, and started removing inferior and obsolete H-D factory parts, knowing I won't be riding for awhile and knowing I want more power when I can ride again. Over the last week or so, I've installed an Andrews 57H cam with new bearings, Fueling pump and cam plate, GM LS lifters, Barnett clutch, Big Sucker a/c, S&S power tune duals, and finally V&H Dual slipons. So great, I've got a basic stage something or other upgrade. Pretty sure i did my homework correctly on the parts mix. Upon completing assembly and making sure my clearances were ok and parts wern't slamming into each other incorrectly,I decided to fire up the beastie and see how it now runs. As you can imagine, without a proper tune yet, it sounded like the gates of hell itself were opening up and starting WW3 inside my shiney new slightly modified engine. Black smoke was belching from my pipes, the detonations were quite disturbing, and gave me the impression the jugs were going to fly through my gas tank at any moment, but all of that stock valve train noise seems to have disappeared. I immediately turned off the engine and double checked my work again just to be on the safe side. During this process, it occured to me that in my post surgical recovery narcotic induced haze, that i neglected to see of my current stage 1 tuner would handle these upgrades. Alas, the Vigilante 5842 will not, but it would probably detonate my engine if it even made it to the end of the street. After hours of research, I've deci