Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Harddrive/Racingbros rear shocks

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2016, 07:35 PM
nevadarider
Advanced
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Harddrive/Racingbros rear shocks

My touring ride is an '04 Electra Glide Classic that I have been doing work on for the last 2 years since I bought it. I've done engine work increasing it to 95 c.i. with a torque cam and Shortblock Charlie head work and also redid the cam chain set up to the HD hybrid set up. I've done lots of other stuff to the bike like everybody else on HD Forums, always tweaking it out one way or another hoping to make it roadworthy and fun to ride. I want to upgrade the front suspension but ended up helping with a friend's funeral costs so I put that on the back burner and am just going to change the fork oil to slightly heavier type for this season. Then while riding recently with my gal on the back the rear shocks seemed to bottom out going over some chuckholes on the highway. And as we cruised at mild speed over some speed bumps later that day, the same thing happened. I pulled over and yanked out the air pump expecting to see that the pressure was low. It wasn't at all, so the Street Glide shocks I put on last year are already too wimpy. So, I decided to look into rear shocks. Jeez, didn't know everything out there was made out of gold these days. Anything I liked by eyeball appeal starts out at about $700. Yikes! I looked on ebay and I can buy a new set of (4) Rough Country shocks for a Chevy 4x4 for under $200 but for 2 shocks for my cycle I gotta pay $700? Then I saw some Harddrive 705 shocks on ebay for touring HD's, for $320. Not a lot of info on those but I decided to try them cuz I need to do something due to the torn up highways around here from the snow and harsh winter we had this year. I got them today,