Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Road King standard vs. police edition

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2005, 06:02 PM
mcbean7
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Road King standard vs. police edition

Hello all. I'm new to this forum. I am currently riding a metric cruiser but will be replacing it with a harley very soon. I'm looking at getting a roadking. I'm still learning about harleys. What is the difference between the standard roadking and the police edition...besides the color? Any difference with the engine, tranny, suspension, etc? I see that it sells for a few thousand less than the standard roadking. With my inexperienced eyes I cannot see any difference between the two.
Do you guys recommend getting a police edition for a few $$ less or stick to the standard?
Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Old 11-22-2005, 06:18 PM
FLHTPjeff
Cruiser
Default RE: Road King standard vs. police edition

I went through this same issue a while ago, except with the ElectraGlide Standard versus ElectraGlide Police. If you do a search, you'll find quite a few threads with info on this topic.

Here's a few things for starters though:

Solo seat
No passenger pegs
Run flat tires not rated for passengers
Handlebar controls are different
Hockey-puck saddlebag lids
Clutch safety interlock (pull clutch to start)

Good luck.

Jeff

Old 11-22-2005, 06:52 PM
mcbean7
Novice

FLHTPjeff,
your reply is very helpful...thanks. I'll do a search to see what else I can dig up.
By the way...what did you end up going with...police or standard Glide?

Old 11-22-2005, 08:09 PM
JBBOOKS
Road Warrior
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Isn't the Police Edition just a paint job and decals, like the Firefighter and Shriner Editions? The Police Models are the ones they sell to municipalities, as police bikes, right?