Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trunk Removal???

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2007, 06:48 PM
Crusher
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trunk Removal???

I'm new to the touring bikes and want to know if it is easy to remove the trunk on the Ultras? If I were to get one I would like the bike better without the trunk unless I was traveling.

Old 09-12-2007, 06:50 PM
BOARGAURD
Road Master
Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts
Default RE: Trunk Removal???

I would say get one with, I bought the Standard without and a year later have grown to like the trunk. So, I am off to spend more money.

Old 09-12-2007, 07:00 PM
Ultrasweet
Road Captain

Took me about 20 minutes. Remove seat. Disconnect all the wires in the trunk. Lift out the trunk liner. Remove 3 bolts 2 nuts. Tuck wires under the seat. Put seat back on. Ride your a$$ off. It is like having your wife come to bed with a wig on. T.

Old 09-12-2007, 07:09 PM
Ripp
Advanced

With a quick disconnect from HD you can remove it in les then 10 min, even on an Ultra.
I put one on my 06 Ultra used it twice the first year and none this year. I found I missed the easy storage of the touring pack and I most of gotten used to the handling of the bike!

Old 09-12-2007, 08:52 PM
blackfinbob
Road Master

Crusher,
I have had the quick disconnect on my '07 Ultra for a little over a month now. It took me about 3-4 hours to put the quick detach kit on and about a day or two to get it adjusted right. Now, it takes about 10 minutes to get the pack on and off. Pop a couple of levers, take out tour pak liner, unhook the antennas and a couple of light plugs and you are good to go. I wrap the wires up and zip tie them in a zip loc and put them under the seat. If you have any more questions, send me a pm.
This is a great alternative when you are riding solo.
b