Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-04-2008, 02:54 PM
DeathWind DeathWind is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 255
Default Run/Off Switch problem

It's been a while since I've had to open up the switch housing and I was running late to work because of this switch problem, so I couldn't get into the service manual. Are the switches replaceable as single units, or will the whole group need replaced? Or has any one experience what I describle below and able to correct it by pulling the switches and cleaning everything?

Was getting ready to leave for work. Turned on the ignition switch, clicked the Run/Off switch to Run and the FI didn't kick off and the diagnostic light didn't light up. Mashed the started button and nothing. Cycled the ignition and Run switches a couple more times and nothing. All the lights and radio were on, so I knew it wasn't a battery issue. Pushed it back to into the garage and decided to try again, click run and the FI pimed and I was able to start it up. Played around with the switch and it's not making contact every time. If I wiggle it a certain way it will make contact and everything works fine.

Any suggestions? Check for loose wires and clean switch? Is it possible to replace the Run/Off switch by itself? Does the whole group of switches have to be replaced?

Thanks in advance for any info.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2008, 05:25 PM
DeathWind DeathWind is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 255
Default RE: Run/Off Switch problem

Bump...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2008, 06:38 PM
TexasRedneck's Avatar
TexasRedneck TexasRedneck is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 3,945
Default RE: Run/Off Switch problem

From what ah've seen, I'd think the switch is independently replaceable.&nbsp\\; Haven't been into that side, but have on the other....
__________________
George "The Texas Redneck" & Pat "Schoolmarm" Mandry
PGR
2007 FLHTCU - RED, of course!
NRA Endowment
"In the shadow of the Alamo, any man looks small!"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2008, 07:07 PM
DeathWind DeathWind is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 255
Default RE: Run/Off Switch problem

Good, I was hoping for that. Looked up parts online and they sell the switches as individual units. Should have grabbed my service manual when I run out the door, but was running late trying to get it started. Once started, it runs fine and no problem on 16 mile ride to work. Will dissassemble and check it out&nbsp\\;tonight when I get home, and if necessary pick up a switch Friday when I drop it off for new tires.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2008, 07:25 PM
TexasRedneck's Avatar
TexasRedneck TexasRedneck is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 3,945
Default RE: Run/Off Switch problem

Try some contact cleaner in on it as well.&nbsp\\; Spray it in good, then blow it out w/compressed air.
__________________
George "The Texas Redneck" & Pat "Schoolmarm" Mandry
PGR
2007 FLHTCU - RED, of course!
NRA Endowment
"In the shadow of the Alamo, any man looks small!"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2008, 07:26 PM
dougbk's Avatar
dougbk dougbk is offline
Road Master
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater St Louis, MO
Posts: 1,122
Default RE: Run/Off Switch problem

Yes, the individual switch groups are replacable (engine run/stop and start switch). Part #71589-96B&nbsp\\;
__________________
Work Ride- 2013 FLHTP

2006 Ultra Black Cherry/ Black Pearl, 88", Thundermax AT, Andrews 26G
SE 6-Speed, 3.37 gearing, Rush 1.75", K&N Air, and bling

1989 FLHTC
Blue Knight Special (#75 of 75), 89" S&S Stroker, Mikuni HSR 42
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2008, 08:11 PM
DeathWind DeathWind is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 255
Default RE: Run/Off Switch problem

Thanks for the info. Checked Latus HD for price and they have a&nbsp\\;special price listed. Origionally listed for $37.75, but you can get it for the low low price of $41. If I can't get it to operate correctly after looking at it I'll check prices here on Island. One of the local HD shops gives&nbsp\\;a military discount. That alone would cover the extra shipping&nbsp\\;cost&nbsp\\;if ordered from CONUS.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2008, 09:20 PM
mattman22033 mattman22033 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,337
Default RE: Run/Off Switch problem

I don't use my stop/run switch...I suppose I should check to see if it working, just in case. It is nice to know that just the single switch is replaceable.
__________________

http://s169.photobucket.com/albums/u228/mattman22033/
2011 Road Glide Ultra...I love the open road!
2007 CVO Road King - Big Inch Club!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2008, 05:45 PM
DeathWind DeathWind is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 255
Default RE: Run/Off Switch problem

For those that want to know...the final answer is:&nbsp\\;Replace the Engine Stop and Engine Start switches as a single assembly even if only one is determined to be bad. (That is straight from the manual). It also states that the replacement switch wires come&nbsp\\;precut to 2 and&nbsp\\; 2 1/2" in length. So you have to cut the old switches out and splice in&nbsp\\;the new ones. Exact same thing for the Hi/Lo &amp\\; horn switches.&nbsp\\;
&nbsp\\;
I think I'll try to get this switch&nbsp\\;working so that I don't have to try and&nbsp\\;stuff&nbsp\\;a big rat nest of spliced wires back&nbsp\\;into the switch housing.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2008, 12:14 PM
DeathWind DeathWind is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 255
Default RE: Run/Off Switch problem

Well, so much for keeping this switch. Took the bike in Friday for new tires. Left the shop and got about 3 miles when I was sitting at a stoplight and the switch acted up. Had to push bike to the side and fiddle with it for 2-3 minutes before I could get it going. I put out a couple emails for price +s/h to Hawaii before going back to the local HD. Found that the replacement is about $35-40 for direct OEM replacement. Part #71589-96B&nbsp\\;was replaced by part #71684-06. Drag Specialities replacement (2106-0023) is about $20 from gopartsdirect.com. Local shop didn't have it in stock, so I checked with the service dept to see if they had a used one from a control swap. Thankfully they did.&nbsp\\; After about an hour in the garage splicing it in, all is well again. I took my time, staggered the splices, and covered each wire with shrink tubing.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 12:14 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem Diagnosing Electrical Issue Damien Bessent General Harley Davidson Chat 30 10-22-2014 07:18 PM
2002 FXSTS Dies while riding Kettenhund75 Softail Models 20 02-07-2013 03:17 PM
Electrical Problem when Starting Matt B Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 3 10-09-2012 02:30 PM
WTF....Bike has automatic Start? Nostalgic07 Softail Models 13 06-19-2011 10:43 PM
Sportster 2009 not starting with new battery NateS Sportster Models 7 05-23-2010 01:44 PM


Tags
7168406, 7168406a, diagram, engine, harley, hd, lo, part, replacement, run, start, stop, swich, switch, wiring, working


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.