Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-21-2008, 06:15 PM
wolfjack wolfjack is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 62
Default How to Hardwire Gps Unit

I just ordered a Road Tech Conquest GPS unit and would like to know the best way to wire it up.
Any help will be appreciated.
__________________
wolfjack
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2008, 06:19 PM
Wecroft's Avatar
Wecroft Wecroft is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Parkton, Maryland
Posts: 2,004
Default

You didn't mention what type bike you ride. The touring bikes have an extra "hot with switch" lead right behind the headlight or tap into the lighter wires.
__________________
If it feels good, do it!
PGR #18690 "Standing for Those Who Stood for US"
2006 Ultra Classic
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2008, 06:30 PM
vzts4q vzts4q is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 901
Default

If you are using the faring mount it is very easy. And excellent instructions are included with the unit. If you go with the handlebar mount things are a lot harder.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2008, 06:32 PM
Cruise Cruise is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Default

I have the Conquest GPS. Although it came complete with charging and mounting cradle I didn't know that at the time so I ordered an extra one. It comes with a 7 page instruction sheet and hardware to connect directly to the fuse panel under your left side cover even though it has an inline fuse holder with water proof rubber cap already attached. I chose to use this inline fuse and attach to auxillary plug under seat by battery with a pigtail connector for this plug. Either will work and is powered once the ignition is turned to run or Aux. It's up to you. The harness is ran under the tank to what ever spot you have the Cradle mounted. Since it is low amp rating (2 amp) I wouldn't have had any problems on my Road King using the spare ignition switched plug in the headlight nacelle but I have already used this for my radar detector. Very easy install really.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2008, 08:33 PM
wolfjack wolfjack is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wecroft View Post
You didn't mention what type bike you ride. The touring bikes have an extra "hot with switch" lead right behind the headlight or tap into the lighter wires.
Sorry, 09 Ultra
__________________
wolfjack
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2008, 08:04 AM
06flstf 06flstf is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canal Fulton, Ohio
Posts: 425
Default

I have a Garmin 750, I bought a hard-wire cable and tied it into the accessory/aux light switch behind the headlight on my Fatboy forks. Of course, the switch had not been wired so I had to run leads from the battery to the forks (running under the tank was fun). The GPS cable comes up by the risers and into my fork bag then out to my RamMount. If I am not using the GPS I can tuck the wire back into my fork bag.
__________________

Mike & Cindy
His: 11' HD Merlot Street Glide FLHX 96 ci
Her's: 06' HD Cobalt Blue Deluxe Softail FLSTNI
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2008, 08:49 AM
gman's Avatar
gman gman is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,378
Default

I have a Garmin 2610 on my UC. I hard wired it thru the fairing into the back of the cigarette lighter. Works great.



Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
2007 Ultra Classic: AN Big Sucker, V&H Ovals, SERT
2006 Dyna Wide Glide: SE AC, SE IIs, SERT

Last edited by gman; 08-22-2008 at 11:23 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2008, 08:58 AM
shootdr shootdr is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Out there some where
Posts: 220
Default

Zumo 550, it is hard wired thru the fairing into the back of the cigarette lighter. Works great.
__________________
It is what it is
218 Crew
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2008, 01:51 PM
FLHTC_Don FLHTC_Don is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location:
Posts: 4
Default

I have a Garmin iWay500 on my Classic. I hard wired it through the fairing into the back of the cigarette lighter. Works great.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2008, 02:42 PM
iclick's Avatar
iclick iclick is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 11,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfjack View Post
I just ordered a Road Tech Conquest GPS unit and would like to know the best way to wire it up.
Any help will be appreciated.
I wired mine off the ACC switch using this diagram. It will stay on as long as the ignition switch is on. Note that power is not regulated by the ACC switch. Don's suggestion of tapping into the cig-lighter circuit, or any other switched by the ignition, will also work well.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
http://www.iclickphotos.com/Motorcycle/0000-080702-04aLH-Bike

2007 Street Ultra
Stage 1: Fuel Moto Power Package, SE255 cams, Power Vision

Link to larger image

Last edited by iclick; 08-22-2008 at 02:44 PM..
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 02:42 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply


Tags
07, 09, bike, cigarette, conquest, davidson, davison, fatboy, gps, hard, hardwire, harley, lighter, plug, softail, touring, wire, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Internet Brands, Inc.