Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ultra Classic, Cutting the Whips Down to Size.

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2008, 12:17 PM
Gamma742
Road Warrior
Received 33 Likes on 28 Posts
Question Ultra Classic, Cutting the Whips Down to Size.

Okay Guys,

I'm new to the Bagger Section as I recently gave up the Dyna for a Touring model (used).

The bike has some small rubber antennas (see sig file) but I sound like crap on the CB when transmitting. I can hear other members in the riding group just fine, it's only when I transmit. So I picked up a set of OEM whips from a guy here at HDF in the MC Parts for Sale section. The only problem now is pulling in and out of the garage the whips drag on the garage door. I know someone here must have cut down the OEM antennas on their Ultra Classic..

What did you use to cut the whips down?

Did it affect the transmission on the CB radio?

Old 10-08-2008, 12:28 PM
SoCal_Pappy
Elite HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Yes it will effect the CB as well as the AM\FM (but not that much)... Find a CB Shop they're normally around most Truck Stops and have them change or replace your antennas and adjust the CB antenna in for performance.

Old 10-08-2008, 12:52 PM
confused
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

What about installing some new 2009 ones
They are redisgned for 09
Will they fit? that is the question

Old 10-08-2008, 01:09 PM
dirtdobber
Elite HDF Member
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

The only problem now is pulling in and out of the garage the whips drag on the garage door. I know someone here must have cut down the OEM antennas on their Ultra Classic..