Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2008 Ultra Candy Red Sunglo Inner Fairing Project

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2008, 11:18 AM
MackAttack
Cruiser
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2008 Ultra Candy Red Sunglo Inner Fairing Project

Hi Folks,

I have a 2008 Ultra, Candy Red Sunglo. I want to paint the inner fairing. I talked to a guy who owns a body shop and he said if I get the code to the paint, he could get very close to matching it. So, I have a couple of questions for those of you who have had their inner fairing painted and hopefully some who has the Candy Red Sunglo color.

1. I'm not a mechanic. I did buy the service manual. For a non mechanical guy, do you think I could do the work to get the inner fairing off? I have taken the front fairing off to install a Garmin Zumo.

2. Do you recommend that I should buy the over priced Harley paint or go with a body shop trying to match the paint?

3. Should I get a clear coat finish? If so, one or two coats? I don't know if Harley puts a clear coat on their bikes.

Any other inputs for this project I sure would like to hear.

Thanx
Mack

Old 10-26-2008, 11:21 AM
Deepsouth251
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by MackAttack
Hi Folks,

I have a 2008 Ultra, Candy Red Sunglo. I want to paint the inner fairing. I talked to a guy who owns a body shop and he said if I get the code to the paint, he could get very close to matching it. So, I have a couple of questions for those of you who have had their inner fairing painted and hopefully some who has the Candy Red Sunglo color.

1. I'm not a mechanic. I did buy the service manual. For a non mechanical guy, do you think I could do the work to get the inner fairing off? I have taken the front fairing off to install a Garmin Zumo.