Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Swing Arm Stabilizers vs Tire Sidewall Flex

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2008, 03:26 PM
96 Ultra
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Swing Arm Stabilizers vs Tire Sidewall Flex

I've asked this question in 3 other threads and no one has even made an attempt to answering my question. But it did get me to thinking about tires and sidewall flexing.

Granted I'm not an engineer, but common sense tells me that a stabilizer must connect to the part, in this case a swing arm in order to stabilize it.. right ?

The Engine is mounted to bike frame.... tranny is mounted to engine... stabilizer is mounted to tranny and frame.

I mean, you can stabilize the engine all you want, but the rear swing arm is still floating around. Wouldn't it make more sense to design a swing arm kit that used pressed bearings instead of rubber bushings ?

And if these stabilizers make such a difference... why doesn't Harley incorporate this design in the bikes suspension... I mean I'm sure they they wouldn't intentionally produce an unsafe vehicle, right ?

With the stabilizer questions asked... What about tires ?

Tires flex side to side... the higher the air pressure, the less sidewall flex you are going to to have. Also you have to consider road surface (ruts and grooves). Now you have to factor in the weight of the bike & rider.

When you lean a bike on its side, you are going to have a certain amount of force on the downward side (gravity), then you have centrifugal force as well as G force to factor in to the equation. And lets not forget the differences in front & rear suspension effecting handling as well.

Of course the higher the speed, the more unstable the bike becomes as the variables change due to the above factors...