Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA

Welcome to HDForums.com!

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-05-2008, 01:05 PM
sybarite sybarite is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Default Electronic throttle problems on 09 Road King

Just rode an 09 Road King, had the fly-by-wire throttle act up during the ride and remained in idle with no throttle response, despite restarting. Had to let it sit for an hour or so, before it could start up normally with a throttle response.

Another hour into the ride, the problem came back.

Anyone else had better luck with the 09 electronic throttle?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2008, 01:10 PM
hawg08's Avatar
hawg08 hawg08 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Posts: 954
Default

My '08 Street Glide has no problems. I even put new grips on and it still works.
__________________
http://flickrbucket.oktom.com/sig_110817.jpg
2008 Vivid Black FLHX, Rinehart True Duals with 4" Slip-Ons, PM Super Gas Breather Kit, SERT, 12" Lite Smoked Half Moon Wings 'shield, HogTunes, Auto Gems, HogPro "Primitive" wheels, HD CVO bags, Truck-Lite LED Headlight, de-riveted front fender, '11 FLHXSE2 Seat, Ken Smith pinstriping.
Click
HERE to see more pics of my bike (updated on 8-16-2011)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2008, 01:29 PM
FastHoss's Avatar
FastHoss FastHoss is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Green Country,Oklahoma
Posts: 4,058
Default

Torch it ,collect the ins.money,buy an 05,problem solved
__________________
2005 Electra Glide Standard
2005 Springer Classic
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2008, 01:40 PM
Gutman's Avatar
Gutman Gutman is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,227
Default

This was an issue on early '09's. Pull the codes out of the speedo. Take to a dealer and they will replace the twist grip sensor. We had about 4 of them. No problems on 08's or '09's since.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2008, 02:46 PM
UltraTheo's Avatar
UltraTheo UltraTheo is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southwestern Illinois
Posts: 889
Default

Boy, aren't electronics great? Until they aren't.
__________________
2009 Ultra Classic, Vivid Black, SERT, A/C, V&H Monster Ovals, Oil Cooler, Chrome Stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2008, 03:17 PM
gunner11's Avatar
gunner11 gunner11 is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Roswell, NM
Posts: 5,356
Default

Damn those 09's, glad I've got an 08
__________________
Gunner11
2012 Road Glide Ultra
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2008, 03:43 PM
lasvegasrick lasvegasrick is offline
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: las vegas nevada
Posts: 85
Default

a friend had that problem,check thr wire at the unit under the injectors.his wire had a bad bend at the f b w unit causing it to stop working intermittenly
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:27 PM
Solitario's Avatar
Solitario Solitario is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Spain (Europe)
Posts: 402
Default

09 rkc no problems at all
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:33 PM
PeeTuneYa PeeTuneYa is offline
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lasvegasrick View Post
a friend had that problem,check thr wire at the unit under the injectors.his wire had a bad bend at the f b w unit causing it to stop working intermittenly
Sounds classic. Sensor not dialed-in to the 0 to 5V signal is move the sensor to center (sorta find the middle between WOT (wide open throttle) and idle, (or closed throttle say).

Next is your connectors are just not male into female or the wire on one of the connectors is pushed out and just touching are some wire shorts/no signal type sensor defaults as in the sensor is good is it the wire (harness) or connector in between the ECM and the sensor itself, meaning the grip.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-06-2008, 07:43 AM
Hrlyrider's Avatar
Hrlyrider Hrlyrider is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Marlton NJ
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeeTuneYa View Post
Sounds classic. Sensor not dialed-in to the 0 to 5V signal is move the sensor to center (sorta find the middle between WOT (wide open throttle) and idle, (or closed throttle say).

Next is your connectors are just not male into female or the wire on one of the connectors is pushed out and just touching are some wire shorts/no signal type sensor defaults as in the sensor is good is it the wire (harness) or connector in between the ECM and the sensor itself, meaning the grip.
In English please
__________________
my bikes
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 07:43 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Tags
09, 2009, connector, control, davidson, electronic, harley, king, kings, problems, road, roadking, throtle, throttle, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2

Admin, Emails & Contact Details