Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Accessory power

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2009, 12:01 PM
lock55
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Accessory power

I mounted a GPS yesterday on my 08 SG. I plugged it in the cigarette lighter socket. Worked until I started riding then quit. Now the socket is dead. Checked all the fuses, all are good. Is there another fuse for the port? Where do you guys hook up accessories? I know Harley says not to hook anything to the lighter socket, I guess I believe them now. Thanks in advance for any help with this issue.

Old 07-22-2009, 12:14 PM
honkerdown
Tourer

Had the same problem, when I went to use my GPS the first time. Actually the wires came loose from the lighter connection inside the fairing. To solve the problem I attached another lighter in the inner fairing at the headlight where harley has the slide connections then routed the wire through the handlebar holes in the inner fairing. Once i connected the lighter and plugged the GPS in I used electrical tape and taped the connection. Installed the outer fairing and then have access through the headlight assembly if I need to get to the lighter or GPS plug.

Old 07-22-2009, 01:11 PM
lock55
Cruiser

Thanks honkerdown for the info. Where did u mount the new lighter? Where did you draw power from? I am not so lucky, its not a loose wire on the stock lighter, I will have to figure out why its not working, I don’t smoke but still want it to work.

Old 07-22-2009, 01:24 PM
honkerdown
Tourer

Didn't mount the lighter, It attaches to the wiring harness behind the headlight and then i wire tied the excess wire from the GPS up in the inner fairing. Left enough slack just in case I need to get to the plug,, if so I remove th headlight assembly and right there it is.

Old 07-22-2009, 02:25 PM
lock55
Cruiser