Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-26-2006, 10:56 AM
Motown_HOG's Avatar
Motown_HOG Motown_HOG is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 889
Default Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?

I am purchasing a Quest 2 for use on my Street Glide. I don't want the fairing mounting kit because I don't want to drill holes into the inner fairing. HD sells this handlebar mount that mounts next to the left-side switch housing. My question to those who have the Quest and this HD mounting kit already is do I need anything other than this? The description (see below) says the bracket accepts the slide-in connection cradle. What is this? Do I need the Garmin mounting kit too?

I know lots of people like the RAM mount, but I hate it. It sticks up way too far and the HD version is much sleeker looking...

Road Tech™ Quest™ Handlebar Mounting Kit (p/n 92300-06)
This installation kit is designed for handlebar mounting of the Road Tech™ GPS System on most Harley-Davidson® models. Mounted to the left-side handlebar control clamp, the bracket accepts the slide-in connection cradle for the Road Tech™ GPS System. Kit includes ear bud speaker, radio/aux input harness, installation hardware, wiring harness, and instructions.


__________________
Joe J.
Southern California

2006 FLHXI Street Glide (Vivid Black)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:32 AM
zubaugh's Avatar
zubaugh zubaugh is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Palm Bay
Posts: 608
Default RE: Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?

The silde in cradle is part of the Quest kit from Harley. You'll need to order one, about $100. You'll also need a jumper to go into the AUX on your radio.

The instructions on your mount should have the appropriate p/N's
__________________
09 FLHTCUSE4
Dished the CAT
ThunderCones "Can You Hear Me Now?" LOL
SERT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:55 AM
Motown_HOG's Avatar
Motown_HOG Motown_HOG is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 889
Default RE: Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: zubaugh

The silde in cradle is part of the Quest kit from Harley. You'll need to order one, about $100. You'll also need a jumper to go into the AUX on your radio.

The instructions on your mount should have the appropriate p/N's
Does anyone know what the p/n is for the slide-in cradle? Is this a HD part or a Garmin part? I don't find it listed anywhere on the HD site.

I know Harley sells their version of the Quest as a kit with the mounting kit included. I thought all I would have to do is buy the HD mounting kit separately and all would work on the Quest 2 (plug and play). So the HD version also includes this slide-in part on the back of their version of the Quest you mention too?

You also say that I will need the jumper for the AUX input. The mounting kit I mentioned above says it has the radio/aux input harness and all wiring. Are you sure this isn't all that I need? Wishful thinking at least!!! Cause if I have to spend $100 for a slide-in cradle and $80 for the handlebar mounting kit for harley this will just suck!

__________________
Joe J.
Southern California

2006 FLHXI Street Glide (Vivid Black)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:06 PM
RoadKing52's Avatar
RoadKing52 RoadKing52 is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 125
RoadKing03
Default RE: Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?

I mounted one of these new handle bar mounts and it looks great. I had the RAM mount and you're right it does look much sleeker. I also had the Garmin motorcycle cradle mount the one with power, they sell one with power and one without, It all bolted up just fine and I did it all in about 30 min. Good Luck
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:06 PM
Motown_HOG's Avatar
Motown_HOG Motown_HOG is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 889
Default RE: Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?

Okay I think I found the part you were referring to… Is this it? Damn, that sucks. So I have to spend an additional $180 above the standard Quest 2 to get it to mount on the handlebars…

Now I see why most of you guys now go with aftermarket mounting kits. So can anyone give me advice on what mounting kit to purchase? I don't want to spend a ton of money on it. If I buy the RAM mount is that all I need? Can someone give me the RAM part number so I know I get the right part? Garmin has a motorcycle mounting kit for $50 on their site. But it looks like I need something else to get that to work too. OPTIONS??? I am trying to get all this before the Sturgis trip and time is running out!

Road Tech™ Quest™ Handlebar Mount Cradle (p/n 91667-06)
Transfer your fairing-mounted Road Tech™ Quest™ Navigation System P/N 92106-05 to a bike equipped with the Handlebar Mounting Kit P/N 92300-06. Kit includes docking cradle only.

__________________
Joe J.
Southern California

2006 FLHXI Street Glide (Vivid Black)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:11 PM
Motown_HOG's Avatar
Motown_HOG Motown_HOG is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 889
Default RE: Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RoadKing52

I mounted one of these new handle bar mounts and it looks great. I had the RAM mount and you're right it does look much sleeker. I also had the Garmin motorcycle cradle mount the one with power, they sell one with power and one without, It all bolted up just fine and I did it all in about 30 min. Good Luck
Does the Garmin motorcycle mount do the same thing as the HD mount cradle (p/n 91667-06)? If so is it less expensive? Or do I have to purchase that too along with the HD handlebar mounting kit?
__________________
Joe J.
Southern California

2006 FLHXI Street Glide (Vivid Black)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:14 PM
RoadKing52's Avatar
RoadKing52 RoadKing52 is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 125
RoadKing03
Default RE: Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?

Here is the Garmin part number. By the way the HD mount comes with the audio cable. Part No: 010-10610-00
http://shop.garmin.com/accessory.jsp...0%2D10610%2D00
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2006, 01:12 PM
Gmansitur Gmansitur is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 85
Default RE: Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?

Here is another option for you. I purchased the all black one before I saw this one. I think the chrome one looks MUCH better.
http://www.gpscity.com/item-ram/racb149.htm

Here is the black one:
http://www.gpscity.com/item-ram-moun...ly/ramb149.htm
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:41 PM
mcman mcman is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 228
Default RE: Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?

I have just about decided on a Quest2 myself. All this talk about this mount and that mount has my finite mind very confused. I don't want to drill any holes in my faring either. So what is the concensus of opinion on which is the best handlebar mount to use? Also what's the deal about having to get power to the unit. The Garmin website says "This waterproof unit also has a rechargeable internal lithium-ion battery that provides up to 20 hours of use. " Am I reading something wrong here? Doe this not mean the unit will operate off battery power for + - 20 hours??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:50 PM
Gmansitur Gmansitur is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 85
Default RE: Garmin Quest 2 Mounting Kit?

I have the quest (basically the same thing as the 2, but with less internal memory). They do both have internal batteries that last about 12-16 hours (mine anyway). The only reason you need the audio cable and power cable option is if you want constant power (so you don’t need to worry about the battery) and if you want to use the external ear piece for the voice prompts. If all you’re doing is mounting it (with no power or external audio) then any cheap mount will work fine. If you want to use it with all the external options you will then need all the special mounts and cables. Does this make sense or did I confuse you more?
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 03:50 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Road Tech zumo Handlebar Mount Kit-76000192A NascarGuy Multi-Fit Parts and Accessories 2 02-22-2014 10:20 PM
Road Tech zumo Handlebar Mount Kit-76000192A NascarGuy Touring Parts 2 02-22-2014 10:20 PM
Garmin Quest 2 GPS MoChrome Touring Parts 3 04-17-2013 03:00 PM
Garmin Quest 2 vs Harley Road Tech Conquest Bagginit Touring Models 2 11-30-2008 06:29 PM
GPS quest II fairoung mount question HilllBillly Touring Models 3 05-26-2008 11:10 AM


Tags
9166706, 9210605, 9230006, davidson, garmin, harley, kit, mounting, number, part, pn, quest, road, roadtech, tech


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.