Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Popping Exhaust Question

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2010, 01:35 PM
skdvr
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Popping Exhaust Question

So here comes another NOOB question.

I have read through varioius threads about the subject but as to not hijack anyone elses thread I thought I would ask my own question in my own thread.

So I just purchased a 2005 Road King (w/ EFI if that matters). It has a 95ci kit, SERT, SE Slipon's. On decel there is a lot of popping and at first I did not think to much of it since I am new to Harley's I just thought that was the sound. After some reading in here I am now guessing that it is running to lean. I was just out at a local dealer looking at some stuff and talked to the service Dept about it. Without actually being able to hear it (I took my truck because I had my twin boys all morning), he told me that some popping is normal in a EFI bike, but not a lot like I was making it sound like mine had. He then told me that there could be multiple causes (again which I knew from reading here that it could be an exhaust leak, intake leak or Tune), and that it would cost $90 to figure out what the cause was. Then said that if it did need a tune it would be 4-5 hours of labor at $125 an hour. I can only ASSume that they guy who did the mods had a tune done at that time, so is there any way for me to check for exhaust and/or intake leaks? I am not a motorcycle mehanic by anymeans, but I use to be a Jet Mechanic so I am fairly mechanically inclined. I just do not want to tear anything to far apart when I have no idea what the heck I am doing...

Thanks
Phil

Old 07-17-2010, 02:10 PM
Antnee 2004 FLHT
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts