Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone make their own twin cam bearing install tool?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2011, 02:11 AM
OLD 96
Grand HDF Member
Received 2,232 Likes on 903 Posts
Default Anyone make their own twin cam bearing install tool?

I am a machinist. Going to see if indie will let me use his cam install plate for a template. And make my own. No big deal if you have the measurements to go by. I have always liked to make my own stuff. Just to beat the system. My outlaw spirit, I reckon.

Old 05-27-2011, 08:31 AM
harleydavidone
Advanced
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

I had our tool room make mine out of a 6" piece of 1 1/4" 4140 bar stock, just turn one end down to .997" about 1/2" deep. It works great, you do not need the whole alignment plate gaget...............I tried to attach the PDF of my drawing but could not figure it out??????

Old 05-27-2011, 08:35 AM
cuda67bnl
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 57 Likes on 31 Posts

I just use an old cam.......

Old 05-27-2011, 12:38 PM
2009blackpearle
Road Master
Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Default you mean like this one I made

did a 103 255 upgrade last winter. had to buy a blind hole bearing puller to get cam bearings out. I made my own insertion tool. before you start you need to put a straight edge accross the face of the cam box and take a depth measurement to the cam bearings. there is a lip behind the bearing and manual says do not force bearing up against it. it is about 1/16 away from crank shaft counterweight plate. I dont see any way you could feel hitting this by hand either. some posts I have read guys are hammering the bearing in , a little too crewed method for something I hope will be dependable.