Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-18-2011, 10:14 AM
Heavy D Heavy D is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Falls, New Brunswick
Posts: 100
Default Resetting the ECM?

Can someone describe how you reset the ECM?

Something about turning the ignition on/off three times very quickly?
__________________
2010 FLHTC Brilliant Silver
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2011, 10:20 AM
dohadex's Avatar
dohadex dohadex is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 710
Send a message via Yahoo to dohadex
Red face Resetting ECM...

Turning the ignition on/off three times will reset the ECM when the "limp home" mode is in effect. This will usually clear it.

What was the reason you need to do this?
__________________
DohaDex
USAF Ret. MSgt "AGE" (78' - 00)
2010 FLHR, Flame Blue/Silver, Cruise, 4" Rinehart's, Big Sucker Stg 1, Custom Dynamics LEDs, FM PCV, Heritage Style bars, Proud American Legion Rider, Post 356

"...suddenly...commit random acts of coolness..."[SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2011, 01:31 PM
JustDennis's Avatar
JustDennis JustDennis is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 1,400
Default

When you are turning the ignition off and on be sure the run/stop switch is in run position. You don't do it very quickly. Turn it on, wait a couple of seconds, turn off, repeat
__________________
Ride Safe.
JustDennis aka JD
Link to PV Tuning Basics


2010 FLHXSE Spiced Rum , 2002 Big Dog Pitbull
1980 FXWG Shovelhead
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2011, 03:54 PM
Heavy D Heavy D is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Falls, New Brunswick
Posts: 100
Default

OK thanks. The reason I was wondering is because I will be installing a Zippers Maxflow in a few weeks(on an otherwise stock bike), and read somewhere that it's a good idea to reset the ECM afterwards.

My plans include some SE Fatshotz and a Stage 1 download on the stock ECM next spring.
__________________
2010 FLHTC Brilliant Silver
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2011, 04:57 PM
dohadex's Avatar
dohadex dohadex is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 710
Send a message via Yahoo to dohadex
Default

There is no "resetting" required then if you plan to put those peices on. What you should think about is a fuel management module...Power Commander V, or something similar. DO NOT waste your Canadian $$ on a Stage 1 download!

Please do some research on this forum about this. That's how I learned and it was the best sourse of info regarding fuel injection subjects. It seams complicated at first....but it's really not too bad.

Good luck.
__________________
DohaDex
USAF Ret. MSgt "AGE" (78' - 00)
2010 FLHR, Flame Blue/Silver, Cruise, 4" Rinehart's, Big Sucker Stg 1, Custom Dynamics LEDs, FM PCV, Heritage Style bars, Proud American Legion Rider, Post 356

"...suddenly...commit random acts of coolness..."[SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2011, 05:34 PM
Heavy D Heavy D is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Falls, New Brunswick
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dohadex View Post
There is no "resetting" required then if you plan to put those peices on. What you should think about is a fuel management module...Power Commander V, or something similar. DO NOT waste your Canadian $$ on a Stage 1 download!

Please do some research on this forum about this. That's how I learned and it was the best sourse of info regarding fuel injection subjects. It seams complicated at first....but it's really not too bad.

Good luck.
Thing is that, there are no tuner shops anywhere near here. There is a Harley dealer 20 min across the border in Caribou Maine, that's it. I wouldn't know the first thing about setting a fuel processor, so I figured I'd hop over to the HD shop in Caribou and get the download on the stock ECM.

I also heard about some units being pre-programmed for your particular application, but other than working around the battery area, I would be comfortable lifting the tank and such. Tried it once on my 05 Nomad, and ended up kinking the fuel line and shorting another wire.
__________________
2010 FLHTC Brilliant Silver
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-08-2012, 08:28 PM
KevinKruuz KevinKruuz is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Default

I just replaced the fuel pressure regulator on my '01 Road King EFI. When I put it all back together and plugged everything back up the LED fuel and battery lights toggle back and forth and the bike will not start. Do you think an ECM "reset" will remedy this DoHaDex. Prior to disassembling the tank, battery cable, etc the fuel and battery read out was working just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2012, 08:38 AM
Toe Knee Toe Knee is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinKruuz View Post
I just replaced the fuel pressure regulator on my '01 Road King EFI. When I put it all back together and plugged everything back up the LED fuel and battery lights toggle back and forth and the bike will not start. Do you think an ECM "reset" will remedy this DoHaDex. Prior to disassembling the tank, battery cable, etc the fuel and battery read out was working just fine.
Check the condition of your fuses.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:56 AM
TickTock's Avatar
TickTock TickTock is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavy D View Post
Thing is that, there are no tuner shops anywhere near here. There is a Harley dealer 20 min across the border in Caribou Maine, that's it. I wouldn't know the first thing about setting a fuel processor, so I figured I'd hop over to the HD shop in Caribou and get the download on the stock ECM.

I also heard about some units being pre-programmed for your particular application, but other than working around the battery area, I would be comfortable lifting the tank and such. Tried it once on my 05 Nomad, and ended up kinking the fuel line and shorting another wire.
In my opinion the stage downloads are a waste of money. They are a one time shot and since they are generic, they are not specific to your customization.

I would advise that you give FuelMoto a call/email and see what they can offer with your setup. The nice thing about having a tuner is that it will be a much closer match (if not spot on) to your customizations AND it can be reprogrammed as you continue to customize.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2012, 12:11 PM
harleycharlie1992's Avatar
harleycharlie1992 harleycharlie1992 is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: san diego
Posts: 8,317
Default

on for 30 seconds, off 30 seconds, repeat 4 times this is a throttle reset and yes it should be done any time you disconnect the ecm
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 12:11 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resetting ECM back to original factory settings? harley_nova Softail Models 1 03-31-2011 01:11 PM
Does the ECM reset? klrhd13 Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 1 05-21-2009 01:29 PM
Reset ECM? Certainteed Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 7 03-09-2009 01:48 AM
ECM Reset? klemay Touring Models 4 10-21-2008 11:10 AM
98 RoadKing ECM 98vibr8her Evo Classic Models 9 05-23-2007 11:09 PM


Tags
2010, 2011, big, davidson, ecm, ecu, glide, harley, king, preprogramed, reset, resetting, road, sportster, twin


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.