Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

this re-mapping deal ? scam ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2012, 08:51 PM
blockzilla
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default this re-mapping deal ? scam ?

Ok , think about this for a minute, Harley tells me "you dont have to remap if you just put on slip on mufflers ..... but if you put on an aftermarket breather then you have to remap.... "because you are getting more air into the engine" so they are basically saying that their stock filter design is so poor that it is actually restricting the amount of air your engine can get through it ....if it is "getting more" air with another breather .... now I have been building drag racing engines for over 30 years and have proven over and over again that with or without an air filter on it , no horsepower is gained because basically an engine is only capable of inhaling so many Cubic feet of air per minute through the same carb/injector ..period...if the filter design is good to start with................... so unless Harleys design is a total piece of crap and is restricting the engine.......in the first place the engine is not getting any more "air into it " with a stage 1 breather or similar breather or no breather at all............So why do they tell you that you need a remap? more money for them ???

Old 01-11-2012, 09:02 PM
rooti
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Have you looked at your stock intake with the plastic cover around it. Only a small hole where air can get in.

The bike comes from the factory running lean to meet the EPA regulations. The harley "download" is EPA mandated so you won't notice a big difference on that.