Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

SE compensator

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2013, 07:02 PM
wrenchguy24
Road Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default SE compensator

How many are you on now and why!!

I have the 3rd one in my bike now.
Took it do dealer said its making noise again, test ride from dealer sounds normal to me.
I rode dinner ride last night radio on with AMP and good speakers on 6 bars I can
hear the figging thing rattle over my radio at 70 MPH NORMAL TO ME BS

So I am a FORD technician So I pull cover of myself
I do see some gauling and roughness but i was not stuck and I just dont see
What would cause this damn rattle !
At times sometimes when you hit a bump and it causes you to bump the throttle a little
and cause the bike to jump it sounds like the chain is loose
But chain tensioner looks fine and chain was tight
So WHAT causes this noise

Attached Thumbnails SE compensator-comp.jpg   SE compensator-comp3.jpg   SE compensator-comp2.jpg   SE compensator-comp6.jpg  
Old 07-21-2013, 07:20 PM
btsom
Grand HDF Member
Received 624 Likes on 453 Posts

That rough spot in the last pic looks like a good candidate to me, what primary lube are you running? I'm on my first SE comp on an 08 Road King, unmodded 96. Have 40,000+ on the comp now with no particular problems. When the fretting problem became known I put the tree lube channels on the face of the sprocket hub on each side and connected adjacent slots on the opposite side with spiral grooves. Used a dremel, no special machining. Installed at 15,000 miles. I tried ATF briefly in the primary bit it got quite noisy. Went back to 20-50 synthetic engine oil and that seemed OK, at least quieter, but the clutch plates seemed to glue together too much on cold starts with the first time going in gear. Now using syn 10-60 and that seems beter.