Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear caliper removal

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2012, 03:56 PM
mteed23
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear caliper removal

So it's time for new pads on my 06 SG. I have never done a brake job on a bike before, however I am confident that I can. I just have a question. What do I have to do to get the rear caliper off to get to the pads?

Old 03-16-2012, 04:41 PM
honestbob
Elite HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Take the two bolts that hold the caliper to the bracket off, it can be done by just removing the rear bolt and swinging the caliper up but it's easier if you take the caliper completly off. Also take the top of your fluid resivoir off and put rags around it to catch any fluid that will overflow when you push the piston back. Just a note, for around $50 you can get a Harley mataintance manual. worth the price.

Old 03-16-2012, 04:48 PM
soos
Grand HDF Member
Received 71 Likes on 39 Posts

Originally Posted by mteed23
So it's time for new pads on my 06 SG. I have never done a brake job on a bike before, however I am confident that I can. I just have a question. What do I have to do to get the rear caliper off to get to the pads?
Replacing the pads does NOt require removing the rear caliper. The pads are replaced simply by retracting the pistons to allow for ample room to unbolt the pads and remove them. BTW, removing the rear caliper requires removing the rear wheel. You do however remove the front calipers.