Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-28-2012, 06:27 PM
Hawkdriver75's Avatar
Hawkdriver75 Hawkdriver75 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 21
Default Help, speedometer quit working on 2012 Road King

So, I rode to work and back this morning with no issues. After lunch I jumped on the bike and about five minutes into the ride I notice the speedometer quit and the indicator where the mileage and clock is displayed went blank. Is there anything I should/could do, or should I just take it back to my dealer. I welcome any input. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2012, 07:23 PM
shooter5074's Avatar
shooter5074 shooter5074 is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Western Illinois, land of bad roads, and corrupt politicians
Posts: 2,172
Default

Dealer
__________________
I have the same number of Tour De France wins as Lance Armstrong..... and I didn't have to cheat

______________________________

2011 Cool Blue Pearl FLTRX
.......ROBOGLIDE.......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2012, 07:35 PM
PowerFactor PowerFactor is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,071
james.samuel.wayland
Default

Yep, new bike, new warranty. I wouldn't mess with it and risk them saying it was your fault it failed. Saying that from experience.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2012, 07:51 PM
bthinnes's Avatar
bthinnes bthinnes is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 151
Default

That is what the warranty is there for. Back to the dealer IMO.
__________________

2012 FLHRC in White Hot Pearl - FM Billet Air Cleaner - FM 4-1/2 Pro Touring Slip-ons - DynaJet PV Tunner
__________________________________________________ __________
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch.
Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote. -Benjamin Franklin-
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:00 PM
TarzanT TarzanT is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crestview, FL
Posts: 63
Default

Obviously a defective bike... just give it to me and go buy a new one!
__________________
Just another day swinging through the trees...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:12 PM
TUCCI's Avatar
TUCCI TUCCI is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Glendale AZ
Posts: 8,861
Default

Power to the unit either came loose or the unit quit...take it back in, they wont even question it....
__________________

"Black Betty"
2011 FLHR ROAD KING
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:41 PM
Hawkdriver75's Avatar
Hawkdriver75 Hawkdriver75 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 21
Default

Thanks much
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-06-2013, 11:50 AM
seph seph is offline
New Guy
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1
Default

Anyone know what the resolution to this issue was? I have a 2012 Softtail doing the same thing, but the dealer hasn't been able to ID.

First did it last summer and they stated the power pin was well connected. Did it in June (1st day of my vacation) and I unplugged and re-plugged the connection...viola all worked fine. Had the dealer look during service work in July and they couldn't see any issue. Did it again last week 70+ miles from home so I made it work again...talked to dealer next day and they said they really need it in 'dead mode' to diagnose.

I think there's a capacitor in the module that gets stuck and pulling the power plug resets it. Anyone have any other idea?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-06-2013, 02:48 PM
btsom btsom is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,255
Default

Pulling your main fuse should do the same thing electrically, then if it is reset your theory is probably a good one. If it still doesn't work, it is probably in the plug.
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 02:48 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Greetings! La Migra New Members Area 9 07-25-2013 02:11 PM
Speedometer, cruise, & sixth gear indicator not working hoot_1947 Touring Models 4 07-30-2012 02:16 PM
In search of a speedometer. Charlie Bone Evo Classic Models 8 04-13-2011 06:01 AM
Wiring Fog Lights with existing Accessory Switch on 2010 Road King Boo2you Touring Models 1 05-14-2010 04:39 PM


Tags
2010, 2012, classic, davidson, defective, details, flhrc, flhtrx, harley, king, quit, road, roadking, spedo, speedometer, warrenty, working


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


© Internet Brands, Inc.