Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-08-2012, 11:08 AM
CRAIGFARTHING CRAIGFARTHING is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: denver
Posts: 2
Default 2007 Road King cruise control problem

My cruise control started working intermettently. It would just shut off and then you would have to reset it. Then it stop working all together.

I replaced the resume and set switch because I was getting low voltage at the Cruise control modual. That did not fix it. I now get good voltage at the Resume / Accel pin and the SET / Coast pin. The throttle rolloff switch is working OK. I get 12vdc to the cruise control module when I roll back the throttle. The brake signal works ok - only get 12vdc when breaks are on. Got a good ground on pin E. 12vdc on pin A when the Cruise control switch is on. 12VDC when the ignition is on at pin F.

I have checked the on board diag and do not have any error codes under the P, S, SP and T diags. All of the linkages have been checked twice. I have verified every pin several time.

I have 12vdc on the engine speed pin H from the ECM and 5 vdc on pin K from the ECM - not sure if that is right as it is a computer and I don't know what should be coming out of the ECM.

So I replaced the Cruise control Module ($400.00 beans) - nothing Changed.

I get the orange light on the speedometer and it never changes to green. I know the green light works because I can ground the pin J ( set Lamp) and the light turns green.

I can not do a cable lash initialization. I never get the green light.

Does anyone have any suggestions or can tell me if I am getting the right signal from the ECM.

I am at a lose.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2012, 11:39 AM
hog-doc's Avatar
hog-doc hog-doc is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: ID Ho
Posts: 1,720
Default

Unplug the rolloff wires on the idle cable and see if it works. If so the roll off switch is bad, if that works just leave them unplugged use the brakes to kick off criuse just like in your 4 wheel vehicle.

Check your switches with an ohm meter before replacing them. If they ohm out theyre not the problem. Never seen a module go out unless it was physically damaged or the tape breaks.
__________________


So many Harleys, so few bikers!

Last edited by hog-doc; 04-08-2012 at 11:44 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:17 PM
CRAIGFARTHING CRAIGFARTHING is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: denver
Posts: 2
Default

I disconnected the rolloff switch leads. I disconnected the brake light switches. I wired around the set and resume switch pins at the cruise control module. Wired around and put 12 VDC on the ignition and on /off pin. I checked all wiring pins for correct voltages - nothing found. Ran all of the on board diagnostics - no error codes. Checked and pushed on each pin going into the Cruise control module. Still getting 8.04 VDC at the engine speed pin and 5VDC on the speed signal pin when the enigne is not running. These voltages are coming from the ECM - not sure if that is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2012, 05:01 PM
AlanStansbery AlanStansbery is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,083
Default

Keep in the back of your mind the replacement module COULD be bad. Is it new/off-the-shelf? I had a module crap-out electrically. The dealer tested the module and reported it 'good' and couldn't find any other issues... I took the bike to an Indy, who checked everything (as you have) and told me: "It's got to be the module." It was...

Alan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2013, 09:19 PM
hogfun's Avatar
hogfun hogfun is offline
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 50001
Posts: 48
Default

This is an older thread, and was wondering if their was a resolution to the problem.
Have a riding buddy with a 2007 RK Classic and his cruise is acting the same, has an orange light, does go green when resetting the cruise control lash.
But at highway speeds (65 to 80) it will not set...although it will set at lower speeds. (40 -50)
Any ideas would be appreciated... also just found out it is hard to find modules that are 2007 and older... whats up with that?
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 09:19 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Next to no cost Cruise Ctrl for Police Bikes mtiberio Touring Models 5 10-20-2014 09:39 AM
How To: Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTC's) DR. V-TWIN Softail Models 37 09-12-2014 12:34 PM
Looking to Add Electronic Cruise Control to 2009 FLHTP simplewell Touring Models 6 02-10-2013 10:57 AM
Overseas - HELP - 2012 XL1200C no mods, 1250 mi P0264 J_T Sportster Models 2 04-14-2012 12:24 PM
2007 Ultra Cruise Issue serverpimp Touring Models 0 09-18-2011 06:16 PM


Tags
2007, cable, classic, control, cruise, cruize, cruse, harley, install, king, location, operation, problems, prongs, road, roll, switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Internet Brands, Inc.