Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tuner...XIED...Remapping????????

Old 06-04-2012, 05:30 PM
dice2010
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tuner...XIED...Remapping????????

What to do, I am really confused. First of all let me say that I am not a mechanic type guy. Here is where I am at. I live in So. Calif. during the winter only. I have a 2012 ElectraGlide Classic, that is still bone stock. The heat from the cat converter doesn't bother me because I am not there during the hot months, so I am leaving it in place.But, the bike has no sound, and lacks power. So, I am going to do a stage 1 kit and some new slipons.
Here is my problem. I have decided on the Arlen Ness Big Sucker stage 1, haven't decided on the slip ons yet. I can put on the stage 1, and I can swap the pipes. From this site I know I have to do something now about the fuel/air mixture. I read to get a XIED from some, get a tuner from others, and some just say to have the dealer do a remap. I am not going to get a Dyno, because I don't need to have it be perfect and don't want to spend the extra $$$. I just want a little more sound and a little more power.
So, do I do an XIED, a tuner, or what. Is their an advantage a tuner has over an XIED? Which do I go with? I know tuners can be pricey, definitely more than an XIED.
Can someone help me out with difference between these?

Old 06-04-2012, 06:21 PM
Pine Tree

Received 1,964 Likes on 463 Posts

Originally Posted by dice2010
...So, do I do an XIED, a tuner, or what. Is their an advantage a tuner has over an XIED? Which do I go with? I know tuners can be pricey, definitely more than an XIED....
Do you want mediocre or a better, more responsive and efficient machine? If mediocre, go with the "ied" things.