Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hayden Primary Chain Tensioner - Pictures

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2012, 11:53 AM
GPHDXLC
Grand HDF Member
Received 345 Likes on 238 Posts

Well, I just got done installing mine.
I'm surprised how tight the chain is, it has no play at all now. The springs are very stiff and it was hard to compress the shoe down. I had to put it in a vice to compress it down to put the zip ties around them for the install. I made sure the springs was set in to the shoe properly.
I didn't use any shims and I only have 1/4" of compression left from the bottom of the shoe to the top of the guideplate. I started my bike up for just a bit to see if the shoe and chain moved up and down but they don't. I'm no expert but to me it looks like the shoe is close to bottoming out.
I have over 17000 miles on my bike and that chain is now tighter then any primary chain I've ever seen.
On there web site they have a video and I can see the chain shoe move up and down with the chain. My chain is so tight now I don't think the shoe could have any movement.
Any of you that has installed one have your chain get real tight with very little shoe movement left?

Old 12-15-2012, 12:11 PM
HDV-GLIDE
Elite HDF Member
Received 44 Likes on 30 Posts

Originally Posted by GPHDXLC
I'm surprised how tight the chain is, it has no play at all now. The springs are very stiff and it was hard to compress the shoe down. I had to put it in a vice to compress it down to put the zip ties around them for the install. I made sure the springs was set in to the shoe properly.