Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help on picking a ride....

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2012, 06:12 PM
Romin Card
Novice
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Help on picking a ride....

Hi all.

New to the HDForum. Have been reading for awhile soaking in as much info as I can. I now am looking for some thoughts.....

I have been riding for about three years.... started with Suzuki Maurder 800 and moved on to a Yamaha Roadstar. Have sold them both and now looking to getting a Harley Touring model. I have test road several but have not rented any. Most of my riding is couple hours of Kentucky back roads. Couple times per year a trip down to the dragon and once a year some 2000 mile week long adventure with the guys. Looking to get my wife to ride with me some as well.

I am down to about handful of choices.

1. Used 2010 Road Glide Custom denim black with 96 engine. Decent prices wich leaves some money for upgrades perhaps a 107 with cams and headwork... (top my brother-in laws new CVO Road kKng and buddy's CVO Street Glide).

2. Used 2012 Ultra Limited cherry red/merlot.

3. Used 2012 Road Glide Ultra in ember red.

4. New Road Glide Custom in hard candy orange.

5. New Street Glide in ember red.

I am struggling with the used bikes (don't know how they were broken in and typical cost for used around here is only 2-3 thousand less than new). Being winter might get the 2012 a bit cheaper. The Street Glide fit's me nice. I love the look of the Road Glides. The Road Glide Ultra hate the windshield as it distorts my vision and the Road Glide Custom wants to rip my helmet off.

Looking to keep OTD at around $23,000.

I have some time until I need to purchase. Looking for thoughts and negotiation tips.

Thanks for the help

Last edited by Romin Card; 12-19-2012 at 06:23 PM.
Old 12-19-2012, 06:17 PM
Fire-Medic