Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

94 Ultra with headlight short??

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2013, 04:30 AM
TimHixson
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 94 Ultra with headlight short??

I am new to touring bikes as I just sold my Sportster this past Sunday and picked up a 94 Ultra on Wednesday.

I need advise / help with two things.

First, I know I need a shop manual. Where should I get one? Is there a supporting vendor on here that carries them? Do I want the Harley one, Cymers or other brand of manual? I have also seem them for download for a fee? What is the recomended route?

Now for the bike problem...

The high beam indicator is on in the dash no matter what position I have the headlight switch. When the switch is on low beam, the two outside flood lights work and are bright, but the headlight does not come on. When I switch to high beam, the headlight comes on but the flood lights stay on and all three are pretty dim.

I think I have either a stuck relay or a shorted wire. Has anyone seen this before?

I did a search here and read a bunch of threads, but did not see my same problem.

Does anyone have a wiring diagram of the lighting to get me by til I can buy a manual?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Tim

Old 04-12-2013, 07:23 AM
Bumpandrun
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 414 Likes on 297 Posts

Go get the manual. I think the true HD one for your year is good for a start. I am not a fan of buy everything from HD but they seem to be good.