Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NADA Listed Values and Dealer Trade-Ins

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2013, 07:09 AM
djkolp
Road Captain
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default NADA Listed Values and Dealer Trade-Ins

I traded-in my 2012 FLHRC, for a 2014 Ultra. The salesman informed me that the NADA values I was quoting from their website, were not the same prices the dealer uses when evaluating trades. He claimed they have a different book that NADA provides them, and that the prices are quite different. Now I've been buying cars and bikes for many years, but I couldn't raise the B.S. flag with him because I honestly didn't know if this was true or not. I should have asked to see the 'Book', but I didn't want to call the guy a liar. Yea, I know. Can anyone on this forum give me some insight on whether or not this is true regarding the claimed 'NADA Dealer Book', and the NADA website listings. Thanks!

P.S.
By the way, every positive post here regarding the 2014's is true! One item that has been barely mentioned is the stock seat on the '14' Ultra. I've had Mustangs, Harley Hammocks, and Sundowner seats on previous bikes, and this stock seat is right up there with all of those. Very comfortable.

Old 09-03-2013, 07:37 AM
lionsm13
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 69,880 Likes on 21,305 Posts

Congrats on the new ride.
It is a novelty and for that one pays for that.

In regards to a different NADA book?
I doubt that.

Trade in value is significantly less than book value.
It's set up that way so that the dealer always makes out $$$ wise.
I'm sure you know that though.
If you went lower than trade in value, then they really got you!
How much did they get you for?
Was it that bad?

You should have tried to sell yours outright first.
That would have been your $$$ biggest return.