Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

fuel pump suddenly does not prime; no start

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2013, 09:49 PM
jefla
Road Master
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default fuel pump suddenly does not prime; no start; ECM fuse

I've an 09 SG. ~ 20K miles. Sorta new build including S&S cams, 106" BB, ThunderMax. New HD battery and recently replaced cruise switch.

SOME UPDATES AND, AS NOTED BELOW, IT WAS THE ECM FUSE

Rode for awhile tonight and bike ran beautifully as usual. Got home, shut it off to open garage. On restart it popped for a second then died. Now cranks like crazy but no fuel pump prime action. I'm not an electrician....

Here's what I've done/know:

The CEL did not illuminate and, using the tack, the bike threw no codes.

When I turn the ignition on and flip stop/run to on, no fuel pump prime sound and won't start (but cranks).

Bike cranks when stop/run is on but not when it's off. Does this mean fault is not in the stop run switch? Correct

Fuel pump fuse appears good, plus I traded it for another. Still no prime.

Start and brake relays have same part no. When I switch one for the other, brake light activates but no fuel pump prime.

System relay is different part no but same shape and connectors. When I put it in fuel relay slot, still no pump prime.

I hunted around for loose wires under seat etc. Nothing.

Ideas?

Many thanks

Jef

My wife said the problem was caused by my washing the bike so much. ... I do think I'll no longer use the leaf blower for drying.

Last edited by jefla; 09-15-2013 at 02:53 PM. Reason: update
Old 09-05-2013, 10:38 PM
steelerdude1
Grand HDF Member
Received 283 Likes on 215 Posts

I would start with the simple things: check your grounds, and battery cables first before you start diggin around

Old 09-05-2013, 10:38 PM
kingomtn
Road Captain