Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1984 FLHT exhaust help needed!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2009, 01:56 PM
twosfamily
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1984 FLHT exhaust help needed!!

Hello,

Please forgive my ignorance, I am new to the Harley Touring scene. I recently purchased a 1984 FLHT. Unfortunately, I know little about the bike other then I love it and it tours great! I am looking for a new exhaust. The problem I am running into is finding some? It is a late model year bike with the rubber mount Evo engine and 5 speed transmission. I am kind of customizing the bike and will not be putting the touring package back on. So, I would like to find bolt-on drag pipes. Has anyone else had any luck finding some? I talked to some vendors and they say they can not guarantee fitment because 1984 was a "bastard" year in their words. Old parts and new parts were used. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Old 07-23-2009, 02:20 PM
Ultra89Rider
Road Warrior
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Any EVO exhaust system can be used for any year of Touring EVO if you replace the entire exhaust system. The heads are in the same point on all EVO touring models. Just make sure you get the mounting brackets for the exhaust system you purchase and don't try to mix year groups. The muffler flanges were changed I think in 1993. I don't know what year the mounting bracket off of the starter for the cross over was changed. The muffler hanger off of the saddlebags was the same all year Touring EVO models.

Old 07-23-2009, 02:31 PM
Dr.Hess
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,706 Likes on 1,343 Posts