2014 limited cb mic question - Harley Davidson Forums



Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA

2014 limited cb mic question

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-21-2013, 08:58 PM
rmc115's Avatar
rmc115 rmc115 is offline
Road Master
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka,Indiana
Posts: 1,054
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default 2014 limited cb mic question/ answered

Picked up my 14 today and while learning the radio details i plugged in my cb mic and do not get a change when keying mic. lights up like it should when i press ptt. worked fine on my 12. manual shows nothing about a handheld, but catalog does not say it wont work with 14's. any try it or willing to try theirs? Mike

Last edited by rmc115; 09-24-2013 at 10:51 AM. Reason: answers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2013, 09:11 PM
harleydude-fla harleydude-fla is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Palm Coast, Florida
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I've tried my hand held mic. on my '14 Limited, same as yours, does not play. I checked the wiring diagram in the manual and the headset connectors no longer have a "Push to Talk" wiring.

I guess I'll have a Mic. to sell on eBay.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2013, 09:23 PM
rmc115's Avatar
rmc115 rmc115 is offline
Road Master
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka,Indiana
Posts: 1,054
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Thanks, that's what i was afraid of. I dont wear a lid most of the time and use it frequently on HOG chapter rides. That sucks. wonder if you could hitt the ptt button and talk into mic?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2013, 10:40 PM
ONEDOWNAND5UP ONEDOWNAND5UP is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Western Oregon
Posts: 2,483
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Trade you a new 1/2 helmet headset for it..

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2013, 11:06 PM
rmc115's Avatar
rmc115 rmc115 is offline
Road Master
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka,Indiana
Posts: 1,054
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Page 71 of the regular manual (not boom manual) says " a special hand held mic can be used available through your harley dealer". wonder if a new one works? Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2013, 11:12 PM
Hammz's Avatar
Hammz Hammz is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,054
Thanked 49 Times in 37 Posts
Default Hand Mic on '14 models

The hand mic will work BUT, you have to key the hand mic AND the the PTT switch on the right handlebar both at the same time.

The hand mic could probably be rewired internally so you don't need to press its' PTT, but then it won't work for older models. In any case, the right handlebar PTT must be used to put CB into transmit mode.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2013, 08:58 AM
14GuineaPig 14GuineaPig is online now
Road Warrior
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,681
Thanked 96 Times in 91 Posts
Default

I'm having the same problem with the handheld mic when I try to use it with the CB, however it works with the Intercom and it also works with Voice Recognition. I'm wondering if a software update would cure the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2013, 04:05 PM
rmc115's Avatar
rmc115 rmc115 is offline
Road Master
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka,Indiana
Posts: 1,054
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I just tried a buddies new mic and same issue and since we had 2 bikes tried using the ptt button and talking, didn't work. i noticed my radio software is 1.16.9 which has a update available 1.17, trying that tonight. Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2013, 11:53 AM
rmc115's Avatar
rmc115 rmc115 is offline
Road Master
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka,Indiana
Posts: 1,054
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

updated s/w to 1.17, no help. called dealer and they are checking wit HD. If anyone has a 14 limited that the handset works speak up. mike
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-23-2013, 12:42 PM
PIGGI PIGGI is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sahuarita, Arizona
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Silly Question, are you sure you have the CB option? It's not standard issue anymore, extra cost option.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voice Activation Teleprompter Gone Dale gamberini Touring Models 3 10-20-2016 02:53 PM
Hand Mic for Cb Radio Casper Tri Glide & Freewheeler Models 12 07-24-2014 10:46 PM
CB Mic Issues? DAKSY New "Rushmore" Models 13 04-22-2014 03:08 PM
cb mic. # 76142-98 1340hog Touring Models 5 03-17-2014 01:11 PM
Wiring CB Mic chrismh Touring Models 7 05-02-2011 03:25 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.