Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Bars? - 1991 FLHTC Electra Glide Classic

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2014, 12:29 PM
DeputyLoud
Road Captain
Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
Default New Bars? - 1991 FLHTC Electra Glide Classic

So I am thinking of getting some new bars/apes. How high can I go and still be able to keep the existing cable set? Not against changing those tho, they are original from what I can see, and with 23yrs on them, it's probably a good idea to have them upgraded as well for peace of mind.

But the question still remains. Also what kind do I need to get? I am assuming with the fairing that a special kind is needed. This is my 1st fairing so I am a newbie to that. Thought, suggestions, and PICS please! Thanks!

Old 07-28-2014, 12:21 PM
DeputyLoud
Road Captain

No responses, really? So I'm looking at the PYO 10" bars. Want to keep my hands behind the fairing, and I like the way they are contoured with the fairing to keep my arms stretched out better. I went through a bunch of searches and really couldn't get an answer on whether or not i would need a new cable and hose set? Seems that the more common size of 12" bars do. So before I pull the trigger I need to know if it will work without new cables?

Old 07-29-2014, 07:06 AM
Pcsolutions1
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

From everything I've seen 10" is the biggest without replacing cables and extending wires. I was told +4 with the 12" and +6 with 14" which I just got yesterday and can't wait to install.

Old 07-29-2014, 12:36 PM
DeputyLoud
Road Captain

Originally Posted by Pcsolutions1
From everything I've seen 10" is the biggest without replacing cables and extending wires. I was told +4 with the 12" and +6 with 14" which I just got yesterday and can't wait to install.