Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thanks for a 39 year run...hangin up the chaps , stay safe ya'll!

Old 09-01-2014, 07:20 AM
jmacdonald5
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Thanks for a 39 year run...hangin up the chaps , stay safe ya'll!

well...I started riding HD's in 1975..and I never thought it would happen to ME...but it happened. The love had been fading for about the last 5 years..little by little. About 2 years ago I bought a hot-rod 72 Chevelle..and started getting into the local cruise night scene, and then after hanging around with a car club, I joined it. Weekends come and it's off to the car shows with the guys...meanwhile the bike sits in the garage, more and more.
The wife, who met me in 1981, and fell in love with not just me, but my 67 XLCH, bad-boy, kick only, "straight pipes from hell", Sporty, hung on tight as we raced through the night. Bar to bar we hopped...and prayed to God we made it home without crashing, or getting locked up...then we settled down in the 90's and it was weekend cruising on the Low Rider..then 3 kids later it was pretty much just me and the guys. On the Springer...then the Fatboy,..then the FLH...and a boat load of bikes in between...then she stopped taking rides with me at all. She became afraid of the danger, of leaving 3 kids motherless in some flaming wreck...then came a lot of friends killed, or injured...then came sobriety for me 7 years ago..which meant leaving behind the drinking buddies to bar-hop without me...and then came, I guess..a change in me. I stopped waking up in the morning and having my first thought be "when can I ride?"...my interests changed. I started flying lessons. I want to travel more, I like car cruising..etc.