Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

Changing handlebars '10 Ultra Classic

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2010, 07:30 AM
Boom
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Changing handlebars '10 Ultra Classic

I'm in the middle of changing handlebars on my TG Ultra Classic. Got the outer fairing off, inner fairing cap off. I see that the inner fairing is in the way of taking the handlebar clamp bolts out. I don't want to go through the tedious task of removing everything from the inner fairing and removing it. Any shortcuts? Can I remove the 4 inner fairing mounting screws to move it enough to get at the bolts? I've never done bars on a bat-wing before. Thought I'd ask before I start removing stuff I don't need to. This is probably the most complex mod I've ever done but will definitely take my time!

Old 03-28-2010, 08:09 AM
Mr. Wizard
Administrator
Received 2,035 Likes on 1,103 Posts

Boom

Grab some long, ball end allen wrenches and remove your radio. That should get you access to the bar clamps. Handle the radio gently. They don't like vibration.

Old 03-28-2010, 11:49 AM
Boom
Road Warrior

Excellent! Thank you Mr. Wiz!!
Got everything apart OK. It was nice of them to put elongated holes on the inner fairing verticle crossmembers so access to the radio screws was easy with the t-ball allen wrench. Also had to loosen inner fairing mount screws and screws that hold on highway lights on forks to get at and remove bottom clamp screws. Now to the task of feeding the wires into the chubby bars.

Old 04-04-2010, 08:41 AM
Boom
Road Warrior
Default Wild1 WO575 complete