Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

Questions for you trike owners

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2014, 07:52 AM
martin10
Road Warrior
Received 504 Likes on 327 Posts
Default Questions for you trike owners

I am getting to the age where I see a trike in my future. I have been riding for 45 years and have never even sat on a trike. I realize that they are a completely different animal so need some input on the handling. What are they like in curves. I live in the Blue Ridge Mountains and almost all of my riding is on mountain roads. I am sure I can adjust to it but any tips would be appreciated. Thanks.

Old 09-01-2014, 08:08 AM
billnourse
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 41 Likes on 34 Posts

My wife got to the point where she just couldn't handle two wheels and got a 2012 Tri 3 years ago. She has over 25,000 on it including a trip down Blue Ridge Parkway, Dragon, Moonshine 28, etc. Arkansas Pig Trail and other twisties in North West Ark. We live in the Rocky Mountains so we do the Million Dollar Highway 2 or 3 times a year, Silver Thread, Pikes Peak, Independence Pass, Coronado Trail, etc.

She has no trouble keeping up with 2 wheelers in the curves, and she is enjoying riding much more without the fear of dropping the bike in a parking lot.

Bill

Old 09-01-2014, 08:36 AM
Postal Trucker
Cruiser
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

As Bill said, it is easy once to get used to the differences between 2 and 3 wheel steering. Give it about 1k miles and it becomes second nature.

I traded from a '12 Trike to a new '14 Trike and noticed the differences between these two models. The handle bars are higher and wider, making the steering even easier.

Go to your dealer and test ride a new one.

Old 09-01-2014, 09:24 AM
fmgsr
Road Master
Received 66 Likes on 49 Posts
Thumbs up

yeah, what they said +1,
just got mine, and loving it

Old 09-01-2014, 10:25 AM
AlCherry
Road Warrior